WordPress Website
| |

How to Completely Reset Your WordPress Website

In this article,  we will discuss how to completely reset a WordPress website.

Remember it’s not advisable to reset your website, however, if you notice unnecessary activities or an attack on your website,  you can easily follow this article to do that.

Also check Best WordPress Hosting providers in 2022. Cheap host providers for beginners

If you don’t know, resetting your website will cause the deletion of all information on your website.

Losing them might be costly,  so you can also follow our steps of backing up your website as explained on this page.

Reasons For Resetting A WordPress Website

As explained earlier,  you don’t just reset your website without a tangible reason.

It tarnishes the brand recognition of a website especially if the website users were not notified before.

Of course, the world has turned digital and we all are becoming more exposed to counters from attackers and hackers trying to steal information from websites.

At this point, we can easily reset the site to remove any unauthorized users from accessing the information on the site. Also, you can keep malware and viruses like Trojan horse out of your site using this method.

  • You are Repurposing The Site

The moment you think you have to change the niche of your site and want to prevent 404 errors,  then you have to reset the site.

Meanwhile, if redesigning your site is your primary aim,  then it is better that you do that from your dashboard instead of wiping the whole site.

Replacing your theme,  customizing,  adding several pages etc can easily be done from the WordPress dashboard instead of wiping the site directly.

  • Do not reset Your Website When Migrating 

You might plan on migrating from one hosting company to another.  Don’t try to reset your website here.

The same contents on the website will be the same after you migrate.

So,  if you would like to transfer your website to another server, domain or CMS, you don’t have to reset it.  The same database will be used by both systems.

How To Reset  A WordPress Website With A Plugin

Plugins help to add functionality to sites.  It makes it easy to navigate and try several actions on your website including backing up and resetting your website.

Note that before you reset your website,  you should endeavor to back up the site.

This is because after resetting your website,  all your website files,  pages, users, posts etc. are gone and not accessible anymore.  The best you can do is to have it stored somewhere.

WordPress backup is a bit easy since you can make use of several backup plugins and download the backup file in your device file manager.

You should always back up your website data as well from your cPanel.

Back to the matter on the ground,  you see resetting a website can be easily carried out using a plugin called Wp reset.

Although there are lots of plugins you can use, this is the most popular for resetting websites.

These are the steps involved in using a plugin like Wp reset on a website database:

  • Firstly,  you have to install and activate the Wp reset plugin from your WordPress dashboard.
  • After that,  you go to the tools. Then select Wp to reset from the list of options.
  • Scroll down to that spot of the Wp reset option.
  • Type in “reset” in the confirmation field. Then select reset.
  • Finally, confirm that you want to reset the site in that pop up by clicking “reset”.

Unlike other plugins, Wp reset helps to conserve your theme and plugin files instead of totally deleting them. Every other file will be deleted including your post, pages etc but those 2 are still on the site.  Now, to delete those, follow these steps:

  • Go to tools, then select Wp to reset.
  • Select the Tools to tab from the option.
  • Tap on that option “delete the theme.”
  • Then confirm that you want to delete themes from the pop-up.
  • For plugins,  tap on the delete plugins option.
  • Also,  confirm that you want to delete plugin files from the pop-up.

How to reset WordPress Website Without a Plugin

This is simply manually restoring your website from the engine area.

Here you delete the database from the server directly, hence no issue in the future.

This method is most preferable if you have issues relating to attacks on your website or unauthorized access.

This might not be as simple as the first because you will have to delete all files then go back to install WordPress once again.

  • Sign in to Cpanel.
  • Go to the database section.
  • Select MySQL Database.
  • Choose your WordPress database from this section and tap on delete from the “Actions” segment.
  • Create a new database immediately.
  • Then you add the same user lame and permission of the formal database to this new database.
  • Tap on add
  • Then go back to your panel home screen to select the “file manager” option.
  • Go to the public_HTMl folder
  • Select the formal database and tap on the delete

Now, your site is back to factory settings and a few tweaks still need to be done before you can have your WordPress dashboard back. To install WordPress again:

  • On your Cpanel, scroll down to the section called softaculous app installer.
  • Choose WordPress amongst all other cms
  • Fill in the required information leaving the root at wp. Your username and password should be added here.
  • Finally, tap on install after filling out the form.
Conclusion

Hey friend, it’s finally time to give that site another amazing design or even reinstall your formal database.

If you think you have any tangible reason for resetting WordPress websites,  then following the steps listed above will not cost you any problem.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *